X

Pre-pregnancy diet

A well-balanced pre-pregnancy diet will help provide the nutrients you need for good health and vitality, and set you on the right track to conceive.

It’s important for women who are trying for a baby to maintain a healthy, well-balanced diet in combination with a pre-pregnancy supplement, like Elevit®Pronatal, every day. Doing so will help provide your body with the essential nutrients it needs to help with a healthy pregnancy.

Getting sufficient nutrients through food alone can be hard

Even with the best intentions, it can be difficult to meet the increased nutritional needs of pregnancy through diet alone. For example, you’d need to eat the following amount of foods every day to reach the recommended requirements of the following 3 essential nutrients for pregnancy2,4:

  1. Folic acid: around 600μg from Dark green vegetables, Fruits, Liver etc.
  2. Calcium: 1,000-1300mg from Milk ,cheese, yoghurt etc.
  3. Iron: around 27mg from Meats, Liver, Green vegetables etc.

That’s why pregnancy multivitamin and mineral supplements like Elevit®Pronatal have been developed to help meet the increased nutritional needs throughout pre-conception, pregnancy and breastfeeding.

Woman making fruit salad

Eating for fertility

Despite this, a healthy and well-balanced eating plan for both you and your partner, can support your chances of conceiving and having a healthy pregnancy.

The basis of a healthy diet

A healthy eating plan contains a balance of different kinds of nutritious foods. The Hong Kong’s Department of Health recommends a daily diet that includes 3 or more serves of vegetables, 2 or more serves of fruit, 3-4 serves of grains like rice or pasta, 5-6 serves of meats or fish, and 1-2 serves of low fat dairy.2

Also, some foods like saturated fats, salt and sugar are not good for us if eaten too much. To help reduce the amount of these in your diet, it’s recommended to switch to unsaturated fats like oils and spreads instead of butter, and cut down the amount of processed or fast food you eat.

Your water intake is also very important to your health. Aim to drink at least 6-8 cups a day.

It’s also recommended to follow this simple advice when it comes to planning a pregnancy2:

  1. Avoid alcohol. The safest option is to stop drinking whilst trying to conceive, pregnant and breastfeeding.
  2. Avoid foods that may contain listeria. These include deli favourites like soft cheeses, paté, cold meats, pre-prepared salads, raw or smoked seafood and raw eggs. Make sure any eggs, meat and fish you eat is cooked right through.
  3. Be choosy with your fish. Avoid fish that contains high levels of methy-lmercury. (e.g. shark, marlin, swordfish, alfonsino, king mackerel, some species of tuna and other large predatory fish)
Pregnancy increases your need for certain vitamins and minerals that are essential to support the development of a healthy baby.
Food platter

Nutritional needs increase when pregnant

There are 3 main reasons why it’s important to take a pregnancy multivitamin and mineral supplement like Elevit®Pronatal while planning to conceive:

  1. Pregnancy is one of the most nutritionally demanding periods you can go through. In fact, whilst pregnant, the recommended dietary intake of nutrients increases by up to 150%.4 Even with the best intentions, it can be difficult to guarantee you’ll get sufficient quantities through diet alone.
  2. The first few weeks of pregnancy are a critical time in baby’s development. This is when the neural tube that forms baby’s brain and spinal cord develops. Often by the time you find out that you’re pregnant, a little person is already coming to life. To ensure that your baby has the essential nutrients during the first few weeks of critical development, start staking Elevit®Pronatal when you start trying to conceive.11
  3. It can take time for your body to build up the essential nutrients it needs to prepare for the increased requirements of pregnancy. Elevit®Pronatal is formulated to meet the increased needs of mother-to-be and help provide her growing baby with the best possible nutritional support throughout its whole development. So, start taking Elevit®Pronatal when you start trying for a baby.11

Key vitamins and minerals that are essential to baby’s healthy development include folic acid and iron:

Folic acid

During the first few weeks of pregnancy, before most women find out that they’re pregnant, the neural tube has already developed, or closed. The neural tube forms the baby’s brain and spinal cord, which is essential to the central nervous system. A woman’s nutritional folate status can play an important role in the formation of the neural tube.22 Folic acid, the supplemental form of folate, is clinically proven6 to reduce the risk of congenital malformation. Therefore it’s important to take a pregnancy multivitamin and mineral supplement with folic acid while you’re planning to conceive like Elevit®Pronatal.

Iron

Iron demand increases during pregnancy and infancy. Iron supplementation will be necessary to help prevent iron deficiency conditions12, especially for pregnant women and children 6-24 months of age.

Elevit®Pronatal supports you through planning for pregnancy

Elevit®Pronatal is specifically formulated for women who are trying to conceive, pregnant and breastfeeding. Folic acid is clinically proven6 to reduce the risk of congenital malformation, iron helps prevent dietary iron deficiency conditions12. In fact, Elevit®Pronatal contains 19 necessary nutritions of a pregnant woman, include folic acid, iron and calcium, to support the healthy development of your baby.

Elevit®Pronatal is a once daily tablet that can be taken any time of the day. Ideally start taking Elevit®Pronatal from planning for pregnancy, during pregnancy and throughout breastfeeding.11

You may need to make other lifestyle changes

As well as adopting a healthy pre-pregnancy diet and getting sufficient nutrients, you should take a look at your lifestyle choices. You may need to make changes there too, to increase your chances of a happy, healthy pregnancy.

References:

  • 2. fhs.gov.hk (2015) Family Health Service, Department of Health: Your pregnancy guide. Retrieved 20 Jan 2016, from http://www.fhs.gov.hk/english/health_info/woman/30005.pdf
  • 4. Otten JJ, Hellwig JP, Meyers LD. (2006) Dietary Reference Intakes The Essential Guide to Nutrient Requirements (p532-535) Washington D.C.,: National Academy of Sciences.
  • 6. Czeizel (2004) Int J Med Sci 1(1) 50-61
  • 11. ELEVIT®Pronatal Package Insert 02/2013
  • 12. J. Stoltzfus, R. and L. Dreyfuss, M. (n.d.). Guidelines for the Use of Iron Supplements to Prevent and Treat Iron Deficiency Anemia. p.11.
  • 22. Blencowe H., Cousens S., Modell B. & Lawn J. (2010). Folic acid to reduce neonatal mortality from neural tube disorders. International Journal of Epidemiology

孕前飲食

均衡的孕前飲食為你的健康和活力提供營養所需,助你踏上受孕的正確的軌道。

對想生小朋友的女士來說,保持均衡的健康飲食是非常重要,而且每日都需要配合一些孕前的營養補充品,如:愛樂維®,為你的身體提供必需的營養素,助你懷孕時期保持健康。

單靠從食物中吸收足夠的營養素是很困難的

縱使你決心跟隨指引,單靠飲食來滿足因懷孕而增加的營養所需,是非常難實行的。例如你每日需要進食以下數量的食物,以達到3種懷孕必需營養素的建議攝取量2,4

  1. 葉酸:約600微克的深綠色蔬菜、水果、肝臟等
  2. 鈣:1,000至1300毫克的牛奶、芝士、乳酪等
  3. 鐵:約27毫克的肉類、肝臟、深綠色蔬菜等

因此你需要配合補充品如:愛樂維®,為懷孕前、懷孕中及授乳期的你,補充多種維他命及礦物質所需。

Woman making fruit salad

孕前飲食

均衡健康的飲食對你和伴侶都是非常重要,能提高成功懷孕的機會和建立健康的懷孕狀態。

健康飲食的基礎

一個健康的飲食計劃是需要從不同種類的營養食物中取得平衡。根據香港衞生署的建議,準備懷孕的女士每日應進食最少3份蔬菜及2份水果、3-4份全穀物如飯或麵食,5-6份肉類或魚類,和1-2份低脂乳製品。2

此外,過量攝取高飽和脂肪、鹽和糖的食物,對身體有害,應減少進食。或以不飽和脂肪的食物(例如植物油)取代,以果醬代替牛油,及減少進食快餐和加工食品。

水的攝取量也是非常重要,建議每天喝至少6-8杯。

計劃懷孕期間,你也應多注意以下建議2

  1. 避免飲酒:對準備懷孕、懷孕中和哺乳的你,最安全的辦法是完全停止攝取酒精飲料。
  2. 避免進食可能含李斯特菌的食物:包括:軟芝士、香腸等冷盤、現成準備好的沙律、生或煙熏海鮮、生雞蛋。所有雞蛋、肉類、魚類食物必須徹底煮熟。
  3. 小心選擇魚類:避免選擇甲基汞(水銀)含量較高的魚類(例如:鯊魚、劍魚、旗魚、金目鯛和吞拿魚 - 特別是大眼吞拿魚和藍鰭吞拿魚等大型獵食魚類)
懷孕令身體需要增加對某些維他命及礦物質的攝取,以提供胎兒健康發展的需要。
Food platter

懷孕時,營養需求會增加

準備懷孕的你需要進食愛樂維®,以補充多種維他命及礦物質的3大主因:

  1. 懷孕是你需要最多營養的時期。當你正在懷孕時,建議的營養攝取量會增加至150%4。雖然你可能會嘗試單從日常餐飲中吸收營養,但實際上是很難確保能攝取足夠的量。
  2. 懷孕最初幾星期就是胎兒發育的關鍵時期。這時神經管會開始發育,並形成胎兒的大腦及脊髓。通常當你發現自己懷孕時,胎兒已經逐漸成形。所以要確保胎兒能在最初幾週攝取必需營養,於孕前你就要開始進食愛樂維®營養補充品。11
  3. 你的身體可能需要一段時間,去為懷孕而增加的營養作儲備。愛樂維® 經過醫生證明的配方,專為孕媽媽提供足夠營養,讓胎兒於整個成長發展得到最佳的營養補給。因此,準備懷孕的你,可趁早進食愛樂維®營養補充品。11

葉酸和鐵是胎兒健康發展的重要元素:

葉酸

於懷孕的最初幾星期,多數女士仍未發現自己懷孕,但此時神經管已經開始發展。神經管是胎兒中樞神經系統的前身,慢慢會分化成腦和脊髓。女士身體的葉酸含量對神經管的發展非常重要。22 臨床測試證明,葉酸補充品能有助減低胎兒患上先天性缺陷的風險。6女士於計劃懷孕及懷孕初期,應服用葉酸補充品。愛樂維®的葉酸含量達建議擇取量,助胎兒健康發育。

懷孕期及嬰兒期間,身體對於鐵質的需求會大大增加。對於孕媽媽及6-24個月大的嬰兒,補充足夠鐵質,能有助預防鐵質不足。12

愛樂維®為準備懷孕的你護航

愛樂維®的營養配方經醫學證明,專為懷孕前、懷孕中及授乳期的媽媽而設,有助胎兒健康發育。臨床測試證明,葉酸能減低胎兒患上先天性缺陷的風險 6;鐵質能預防鐵質不足。12

愛樂維®含大量重要的維他命及礦物質,包括葉酸、鐵和鈣等19種孕婦必需營養素,為孕媽媽提供足夠的營養需要。每日1次,適合任何時間服用。建議從計劃懷孕、懷孕期間及整個授乳期服用。11

為了懷孕,你也需要改變生活模式

除了建立健康的孕前飲食及攝取足夠營養,你也應該注意日常的生活習慣,並作出改善,以增加成功懷孕的機會。

參考資料:

  • 2. fhs.gov.hk (2015) Family Health Service, Department of Health: Your pregnancy guide. Retrieved 20 Jan 2016, from http://www.fhs.gov.hk/tc_chi/health_info/woman/30005.pdf
  • 4. Otten JJ, Hellwig JP, Meyers LD. (2006) Dietary Reference Intakes The Essential Guide to Nutrient Requirements (p532-535) Washington D.C.,: National Academy of Sciences.
  • 6. Czeizel (2004) Int J Med Sci 1(1) 50-61
  • 11. ELEVIT®Pronatal Package Insert 02/2013
  • 12. J. Stoltzfus, R. and L. Dreyfuss, M. (n.d.). Guidelines for the Use of Iron Supplements to Prevent and Treat Iron Deficiency Anemia. p.11.
  • 22. Blencowe H., Cousens S., Modell B. & Lawn J. (2010). Folic acid to reduce neonatal mortality from neural tube disorders. International Journal of Epidemiology